Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Department of Linguistics & Germanic, Slavic, Asian and African Languages
Faculty
Home > People > Faculty


AFRICAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Choti, Jonathan chotijon@msu.edu (517) 355-8358
Ngonyani, Deogratias ngonyani@msu.edu (517) 353-4051
Sibanda, Galen sibanda1@msu.edu (517) 353-0746

 

ARABIC STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Chakrani, Brahim chakrani@msu.edu (517) 432-3570
Issa, Sadam sissa@msu.edu (517) 353-4862
Lin, Cheng-Wei   (517) 353-4862
Lucas, Russell E. relucas@msu.edu (517) 353-8848
Mohamed, Ayman mohame44@msu.edu (517) 432-3569
Suleiman, Camelia csuleima@msu.edu (517) 884-4320

 

CHINESE STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Hao, Xuefei haoxuefe@msu.edu (517) 884-4319
Huang, Ho-Hsin huanghoh@msu.edu (517) 353-6437
Li, Xiaoshi xli@msu.edu (517) 353-7216
Sang, Tze-Lan tzelan@msu.edu (517) 354-4339
Teng, Chunhong tengc@msu.edu (517) 432-1235
Zhou, Wenying zhouweny@msu.edu (517) 884-6334

 

GERMAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Banzhaf, Pia banzhafm@msu.edu (517) 432-1235
Fritzsche, Sonja fritzsc9@msu.edu (517) 353-0740
Gacs, Adam gacs@msu.edu (517) 884-6317
Goertler, Senta goertler@msu.edu (517) 355-5079
Handelman, Matthew handelm@msu.edu (517) 355-5184
Lovik, Thomas lovik@msu.edu (517) 355-3809
McEwen, Kathryn mcewenk@msu.edu (517) 355-4762
Mittman, Elizabeth mittman@msu.edu (517) 355-5170
Schuster-Craig, Johanna schust66@msu.edu (517) 355-4760
Wolff, Lynn lwolff@msu.edu (517) 353-3269
Wurst, Karin wurst@msu.edu (517) 355-4597

 

HEBREW STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Bernstein, Marc S. msb@msu.edu (517) 432-6209
Kedem, Yore ykedem@msu.edu (517) 353-4863

 

HINDI/URDU STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Pue, A. Sean pue@msu.edu (517) 432-3568
Ranjan, Rajiv rranjan@msu.edu (517) 884-4336
Vaishnava, Premlata   (517) 884-4336

 

JAPANESE STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Endo Hudson, Mutsuko endo@msu.edu (517) 432-7164
Glade, Jonathan glade@msu.edu (517) 353-4860
Kawaguchi, Mariko kawaguc7@msu.edu (517) 884-1775
Ryu, Catherine ryuc@msu.edu (517) 353-6656
Hamada, Masumi hamadama@msu.edu (517) 353-0805
Yamaguchi, Mika mikayama@msu.edu (517) 884-6729

 

KOREAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Park, Ok-Sook ospark@msu.edu (517) 353-0663

 

LCTL COORDINATOR

Faculty Name Email Phone
Steider, Danielle steider@msu.edu (517) 355-5105

 

LINGUISTICS FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Beretta, Alan beretta@msu.edu (517) 353-7212
Durvasula, Karthik durvasul@msu.edu (517) 432-0194
Endo Hudson, Mutsuko endo@msu.edu (517) 432-7164
Lin, Yen-Hwei liny@msu.edu (517) 353-8776
Morzycki, Marcin morzycki@msu.edu (517) 355-5171
Munn, Alan amunn@msu.edu (517) 355-7491
Ngonyani, Deogratias ngonyani@msu.edu (517) 353-4051
Schmitt, Cristina schmit12@msu.edu (517) 353-6762
Taylor, Heather hev@msu.edu (517) 432-4690
Wagner, Suzanne wagnersu@msu.edu (517) 355-9739

 

RUSSIAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
Kumakhova, Zarema kumakhov@msu.edu (517) 355-5193
Mamadnazarova, Gulshod mamadnaz@msu.edu (517) 884-4328
Merrill, Jason merril25@msu.edu (517) 355-8365
Prestel, David prestel@msu.edu (517) 353-8750
Spasova, Shannon spasova@msu.edu (517) 884-6335

 

TESOL FACULTY

Faculty Name Email Phone
De Costa, Peter pdecosta@msu.edu (517) 353-9776
Deshors, Sandra C. deshorss@msu.edu  
Gass, Susan gass@msu.edu (517) 353-0800
Godfroid, Aline godfroid@msu.edu (517) 353-6432
Hardison, Debra hardiso2@msu.edu (517) 884-1507
Loewen, Shawn loewens@msu.edu (517) 353-9790
Polio, Charlene polio@msu.edu (517) 884-1502
Spinner, Patti spinnerp@msu.edu (517) 353-0754
Winke, Paula winke@msu.edu (517) 353-9792

 

FACULTY WITH PRIMARY APPOINTMENTS IN OTHER DEPARTMENTS

Laura Dilley
ldilley@msu.edu
Assistant Professor of Communicative Sciences and Disorders
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Linguistics
 
Denise Troutman 
troutma1@msu.edu                
Associate Professor of Linguistics 
Associate Professor of Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures

 

RETIRED FACULTY

Barbara Abbott Professor Emerita of Linguistics and Philosophy
John Eulenberg Professor Emeritus of African Languages
Julia S. Falk Professor Emerita of Linguistics
Grover Hudson Professor Emeritus of Linguistics
Carol Myers-Scotton Adjunct Professor of Linguistics

 

FACULTY IN RELATED FIELDS: Many faculty members in other programs and departments offer courses relevant to linguistics, and some occasionally serve on Linguistics graduate student guidance committees. These programs and departments include TESOLSecond Language StudiesRomance and Classical StudiesPsychologyCommunication Sciences and Disorders, and Computer Science and Engineering, among others. Many students also work closely with faculty in other areas of the Cognitive Science Program, of which the Linguistics Program is a central component.