AFRICAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Choti, Jonathanchotijon@msu.edu(517) 355-8358
Ngonyani, Deogratiasngonyani@msu.edu(517) 353-4051
Sibanda, Galensibanda1@msu.edu(517) 353-0746

ARABIC STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Chakrani, Brahimchakrani@msu.edu(517) 432-3570
Issa, Sadamsissa@msu.edu(517) 353-4862
Lucas, Russell E.relucas@msu.edu(517) 353-8848
Mohamed, Aymanmohame44@msu.edu(517) 432-3569
Suleiman, Cameliacsuleima@msu.edu(517) 884-4320

CHINESE STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Hao, Xuefeihaoxuefe@msu.edu(517) 884-4319
Huang, Ho-Hsinhuanghoh@msu.edu(517) 353-6437
Li, Xiaoshixli@msu.edu(517) 353-7216
Sang, Tze-Lantzelan@msu.edu(517) 354-4339
Zhou, Wenyingzhouweny@msu.edu(517) 884-6334

GERMAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Banzhaf, Piabanzhafm@msu.edu(517) 432-1235
Fritzsche, Sonjafritzsc9@msu.edu(517) 353-0740
Gacs, Adamgacs@msu.edu(517) 884-6317
Goertler, Sentagoertler@msu.edu(517) 355-5079
Handelman, Matthewhandelm@msu.edu(517) 355-5184
Kronenberg, Felixkronenb6@msu.edu(517) 884-4310
Lovik, Thomaslovik@msu.edu(517) 355-3809
McEwen, Kathrynmcewenk@msu.edu(517) 355-4762
Mittman, Elizabethmittman@msu.edu(517) 355-5170
Schuster-Craig, Johannaschust66@msu.edu(517) 355-4760
Wolff, Lynnlwolff@msu.edu(517) 353-3269
Wurst, Karinwurst@msu.edu(517) 355-4597

HEBREW & ISRAELI CULTURAL STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Bernstein, Marc S.msb@msu.edu(517) 432-6209
Kedem, Yoreykedem@msu.edu(517) 353-4863

INDIAN AND SOUTH ASIAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Pue, A. Seanpue@msu.edu(517) 432-3568
Ranjan, Rajivrranjan@msu.edu(517) 884-4336

JAPANESE STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Endo Hudson, Mutsukoendo@msu.edu(517) 432-7164
Humphrey, Daviddhumphre@msu.edu(517) 353-4860
Kawaguchi, Marikokawaguc7@msu.edu(517) 884-1775
Ryu, Catherineryuc@msu.edu(517) 353-6656
Hamada, Masumihamadama@msu.edu(517) 353-0805
Yamaguchi, Mikamikayama@msu.edu(517) 884-6729

KOREAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Park, Ok-Sookospark@msu.edu(517) 353-0663

LCTL COORDINATOR

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Steider, Daniellesteider@msu.edu(517) 355-5105

LINGUISTICS FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Beretta, Alanberetta@msu.edu(517) 353-7212
Durvasula, Karthikdurvasul@msu.edu(517) 432-0194
Endo Hudson, Mutsukoendo@msu.edu(517) 432-7164
Lin, Yen-Hweiliny@msu.edu(517) 353-8776
Morzycki, Marcinmorzycki@msu.edu(517) 355-5171
Munn, Alanamunn@msu.edu(517) 355-7491
Ngonyani, Deogratiasngonyani@msu.edu(517) 353-4051
Schmitt, Cristinaschmit12@msu.edu(517) 353-6762
Wagner, Suzannewagnersu@msu.edu(517) 355-9739

RUSSIAN STUDIES FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
Kumakhova, Zaremakumakhov@msu.edu(517) 355-5193
Mamadnazarova, Gulshodmamadnaz@msu.edu(517) 884-4328
Merrill, Jasonmerril25@msu.edu(517) 355-8365
Prestel, Davidprestel@msu.edu(517) 353-8750
Spasova, Shannonspasova@msu.edu(517) 884-6335

TESOL FACULTY

Faculty NameEmailPhone
De Costa, Peterpdecosta@msu.edu(517) 884-7728
Deshors, Sandra C.deshorss@msu.edu(517) 884-6320
Gass, Susangass@msu.edu(517) 353-0800
Godfroid, Alinegodfroid@msu.edu(517) 353-6432
Hardison, Debra M.hardiso2@msu.edu(517) 884-1507
Loewen, Shawnloewens@msu.edu(517) 353-9790
Polio, Charlenepolio@msu.edu(517) 884-1502
Spinner, Pattispinnerp@msu.edu(517) 353-0754
Winke, Paulawinke@msu.edu(517) 353-9792

FACULTY WITH PRIMARY APPOINTMENTS IN OTHER DEPARTMENTS

Laura Dilley
ldilley@msu.edu
Assistant Professor of Communicative Sciences and Disorders
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Linguistics
Denise Troutman
troutma1@msu.edu                
Associate Professor of Linguistics 
Associate Professor of Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures

RETIRED FACULTY

Barbara AbbottProfessor Emerita of Linguistics and Philosophy
Raimund BelgardtProfessor Emeritus of German
John EulenbergProfessor Emeritus of African Languages
Julia S. FalkProfessor Emerita of Linguistics
Grover HudsonProfessor Emeritus of Linguistics
Thomas W. JuntuneProfessor Emeritus of German
Pat McConeghyProfessor Emeritus of German
Carol Myers-ScottonAdjunct Professor of Linguistics
Pat PaulsellProfessor Emerita of German
George F. PetersProfessor Emeritus of German

FACULTY IN RELATED FIELDS: Many faculty members in other programs and departments offer courses relevant to linguistics, and some occasionally serve on Linguistics graduate student guidance committees. These programs and departments include TESOLSecond Language StudiesRomance and Classical StudiesPsychologyCommunication Sciences and Disorders, and Computer Science and Engineering, among others. Many students also work closely with faculty in other areas of the Cognitive Science Program, of which the Linguistics Program is a central component.